Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Sumy region

Attractions of Sumy region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Sumy region

Found 163 attractions

Sumy region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Sumy region

Путивльський державний історико-культурний заповідник (Краєзнавчий музей), Путивль
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Putyvl State Historical and Cultural Reserve (Local Lore Museum)

Museum / gallery

The State Historical and Cultural Reserve in the city of Putyvl protects a complex of historical, cultural and archaeological monuments of the historical city and its environs - from ancient Rus times to the 20th century. In total, there are 35 cultural heritage sites on its territory.

The monuments of national importance are Horodok (a hillfort of Ancient Rus Putyvl), the architectural ensembles of the Molchensky Monastery (16th-19th) and the former Holy Spirit Convent (17th-19th), the Nicholas Velykoritsky Church (17th).

The administration building of the reserve houses the Putivl Local Lore Museum. It is located in a small one-story mansion in the center of Putyvl, which belonged to the landowner Cherepov in the 19th century. Almost three thousand exhibits reveal the history of the city from ancient times to the present day. In particular, the museum presents an 18th-century wardrobe that belonged to Hetman Ivan Mazepa; an armchair of the Russian impostor False Dmitry I; a bell donated to the city by Tsar Michael Romanov; a bull's jawbone with drawings found in the Molchenske swamp.

The national status is given to the "Spadshchansky Forest" Memorial Complex, where the Museum of Partisan Glory, the Museum of Weapons and Military Equipment, and the Museum of Monumental Art of the Totalitarian Era "Park of the Totalitarian Period" are located. The reserve also includes the Horiun Culture Museum and the "Bell of Sorrow" Memorial in the village of Nova Sloboda.

Map pin icon Krolevetska Street, 70 Putyvl

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Пам'ятник цукру-рафінаду, Суми
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Refined Sugar Monument

Monument

The monument of refined sugar in Sumy was opened for the 355th anniversary of the city in memory of the former sugar glory of Sumy.

It is located on Pokrovska Square, opposite the monument to the sugar factory Ivan Kharytonenko, thanks to whom the city achieved prosperity in the 19th century. At that time, sugar began to be pressed into small cubes, and it was this form of the monument that was chosen by sculptors Viktor Dovholyuk and Oleksiy Shevchenko.

You can go down to the large refined cube on stone cubes to take a photo at the landmark, which symbolizes the wealth of the region. It is assumed that individual sugar cubes will be scattered throughout the city.

On the same day, on Voskresenska Street in Sumy, the sculpture "Baby Sweets" was opened.

Map pin icon Pokrovska Square Sumy

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Воскресенська церква, Лебедин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Resurrection Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Resurrection in Lebedyn is a rare wooden church on the territory of Slobozhanshchyna, which has been preserved since the 18th century, although it has been rebuilt many times.

At first there was a five-chamber, cross-shaped plan, five-headed. Outside, it is sheathed with vertically placed boards with fasteners.

In the 1930s, the Resurrection Church was closed by the Soviet authorities, the bells were removed, the bell tower was destroyed, and the iconostasis was burned. Restoration has recently begun.

Map pin icon Kobyzhcha Street, 121 Lebedyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Роменський краєзнавчий музей, Ромни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Romny Local Lore Museum

Museum / gallery

The Romny Local Lore Museum is located in the historical center of the city of Romny and is part of the State Historical and Cultural Reserve "Posullia". It is one of the richest museums in the Sumy region - its funds contain about 50 thousand exhibits.

The history of the museum began in 1919, when the Society for the Protection of Monuments of Antiquity and Art was founded in Romny. During the first decades, the museum changed its address several times, until in 1943 it was located in the current premises of the former 19th century bank.

The museum's exposition tells about the history of the Romny region and the nature of the region. There are permanent exhibitions: "Spiritual amulets of the region", "The people of Romny - heroes of Chernobyl", "The historical choice of the people", "Life in the name of science", "Milestones of the history of the Romny region", "The Romny region during the Second World War", the diorama "Animal world of the Romny region".

The heroic Cossack era in the history of Romny region is represented by weapons, a collection of Cossack pipes and household items from the 17th-18th centuries. Among the rarities is the Lithuanian Statute of 1588, the oldest printed edition in the museum collections of Sumy region. A unique relic associated with the name of Taras Shevchenko is a torban, which belonged to the Kobzar himself. The pride of the museum is a luxurious art collection and a rich ethnographic and household collection.

Near the building of the local history museum lies a huge boulder, brought here by a glacier from Karelia 180 thousand years ago.

Map pin icon Mykolayivska Street, 10 Romny

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Круглий двір, Тростянець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Round Yard

Palace / manor , Architecture

Unique in terms of architecture, the manor house "Round Yard" was built in Trostianets  in 1749 by Yosyp Nadarzhynskyi with brothers - sons of the royal clergyman Timofiy Nadarzhynskyi.

The building is made in the form of an oval fortress or castle. Initially, it was planned as a defense to protect against the Tatars. The "Round Yard" is surrounded by a hollow brick wall reinforced with buttresses, with one-story rooms inside the yard and four round three-tiered towers.

In the middle of the 19th century, the estate passed into the possession of Prince Oleksiy Holitsyn, who adapted the fortress "Round Yard" for a summer theater or circus. In the open area of the courtyard, three-tiered boxes for spectators were built, similar to ancient Roman amphitheatres. Artists lived in the towers. In the center was an arena where circus performances and performances by the troupe of the Holitsyn Fortress Theater took place.

During the years of Ukraine's independence, the "Round Yard" was restored, various cultural events are held. Adjacent to it is a park with the Holitsyn Palace (XIX century), an arboretum, lakes and wooden sculptures.

RUSSIAN-UKRAINIAN WAR

During the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine in 2022, during the battles for Trostianets, Russian troops caused significant damage to the "Round Yard" building.

Map pin icon Myru Street, 16 Trostianets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Садиба Рудзинських, Кролевець
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Rudzynsky Maison

Palace / manor , Architecture

The manor house of the Rudzynsky nobles from Krolevets was built in the 1820s on the southeastern outskirts of Krolevets near the old road to Hlukhiv.

Made in the architectural forms of late provincial classicism, with a certain influence of romanticism. The walls are made of oak beams, the decorative elements are made of stucco stucco. The original decor has been partially preserved in the interiors, in particular the stucco rosette on the ceiling.

There is a version that Taras Shevchenko visited here in 1845 (a portrait of Yosyp Rudzynsky, dated that year, made by Shevchenko has been preserved). The last owner was Volodymyr Rudzynsky, a participant in the liberation movement of the beginning of the 20th century.

In Soviet times, a club was placed here, and then a school. In the 1960s, a children's sanatorium was established on the grounds of the estate. Currently, the building has been restored and is in private ownership.

Map pin icon Kalynovskoho Street, 64 Krolevets

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Василівська церква, Ромни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Basil's Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Basil in Romny is part of the complex of the Holy Spirit Cathedral and, in fact, is its bell tower.

After reconstruction, it became elongated, without a dome.

The Church of Saint Basil is located on the Bazarna Square in the city of Romny, next to the market and the ancient Rus settlement.

Map pin icon Bazarna Square, 15 Romny

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Димитріївська церква, Стецьківка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Demetrius Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of Saint Demetrius was built in Stetskivka in 1835-1846 at the expense of the landowners Savych. The temple is made in the style of classicism.

In Soviet times, the building was used as a granary, but during the Second World War, worship services were restored.

Currently, the Saint Demetrius Church is active. Restoration was carried out in 2002.

Map pin icon Sharivka Street, 34G Stetskivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Святого Георгія, Охтирка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint George's Church

Temple , Architecture

The majestic church of Saint George the Victorious in Okhtyrka is also known as Yuriyivska Church.

Its history begins in 1660, when the first Saint George's Church was built in Okhtyrka. Subsequently, it was repeatedly reconstructed by the efforts of the hussar regiment of Denis Davydov, but in 1860 it was decided to build a new one instead of the old church. Construction lasted 45 years. The temple was consecrated only in 1905, and it was active for a short time. In 1920, it was closed and partially looted by the Bolsheviks, for a long time the premises were used as a warehouse.

In 1993, the church was handed over to the community of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

In May 2022, during the full-scale Russian invasion of Ukraine, Saint George's Church was severely damaged by a Russian missile attack. Damaged upper, over-door and arched windows, as well as wall structures.

Map pin icon Kyivska Street, 49 Okhtyrka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Михайлівська церква, Вороніж
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Michael's Church

Temple , Architecture

The spectacular Saint Michael's Church in Voronizh is a masterpiece of the late Ukrainian Baroque. It was built in 1781-1786 according to the project of the architect Ivan Hryhorovych-Barsky (according to another version - Rastavelli).

According to the plan, it is close to the Holy Intercession Church built by Hryhorovych-Barsky on Podil in Kyiv. A distinctive feature of the architecture is the combination of architectural techniques used in the construction of Orthodox and Catholic churches, which is practically not found in religious buildings of the Left Bank of Ukraine. Thematic high-reliefs depicting the apostles were used to decorate the exterior surface of the church.

The interiors were painted by the outstanding Ukrainian artist Mykola Murashko.

Map pin icon Novhorod-Siverska Street, 2B Voronizh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївська церква, Глухів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The ancient Cossack Saint Nicholas Church is the oldest architectural monument in Hlukhiv. It was built by master Matviy Yefimov in the Baroque style.

During the hetman times, Cossack councils were held on the square in front of the Saint Nicholas church, where various state issues were decided, and "elections" were held in the church itself - sumptuous ceremonies of consecration to hetmans.

Here is the grave of the politician and statesman of the Hetman region, Major General Mykola Khanenko.

Map pin icon maidan Soborny, 1 Hlukhiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Свято-Миколаївська церква, Лебедин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

The imposing Saint Nicholas Church in Lebedyn, which combines the Byzantine style with the Renaissance in its architectural image, is a vivid example of the possibilities of the so-called "brick style" common in the XIX-XX centuries in Ukraine.

Nicholas Church was built in 1890 according to the project of the architect Volodymyr Nemkin. The author decorated the walls of the temple with intricate cornices, arches and other complex elements.

Map pin icon Mykolayivska Street, 2 Lebedyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївська церква, Пустовійтівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Church

Temple , Architecture

Saint Nicholas Church in Pustoviitivka was founded in 1900 according to the project of Poltava architect Serhiн Nosov.

Construction was completed in 1906.

Currently, the Nicholas Church is active and belongs to the UOC of the Moscow Patriarchate.

Map pin icon 5th Lane of Tsentralna, 9 Pustoviitivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Миколаївський монастир, Миропілля
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Saint Nicholas Monastery

Temple , Architecture

Saint Nicholas Monastery in Myropillia is one of the most striking architectural monuments of Sumy Region of the 19th century.

The five-tiered, 56-meter bell tower of the Saint Nicholas Church, which is the tallest in the region, attracts attention. The five-apsed brick temple in the style of classicism has a complex structure and an unusual shape.

Currently, the Saint Nicholas Monastery is active, restoration is in progress.

Map pin icon Sumska Street, 90 Myropillia

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Народний музей історії села Салогубівка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Salohubivka Village History Peoples Museum

Museum / gallery

The Peoples Museum of the Salohubivka Village History was founded in 1975. Initially, it was dedicated to the Soviet intelligence officer Kuzma Hnidash, who was born in Salohubivka in 1914.

Currently, the museum has 1,410 exhibits, 200 of which are original. The exhibition contains materials and documents that highlight the history of the village and the lives of its famous natives. Some ethnographic materials are presented.

Map pin icon Hnidasha Street, 4A Salohubivka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable