Attractions of Ukraine

Right arrow

Attractions of Lviv region

Attractions of Lviv region

Online travel guide to attractions and sights of Lviv region

Found 469 attractions

Lviv region

change

Sights categories

Available for

Availability settings

Clear filters

All attractions and sights of Lviv region

Церква Успіння Пресвятої Богородиці, Славсько
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Slavsko was built in 1901 (architect Vasyl Nahirny) on the place where, according to legend, a cross fell twice, torn by the wind from an old wooden church on a nearby hill.

The bell tower at the cemetery survived from the wooden Assumption Church.

A monument to the writer Mykola Ustyyanovych was erected near the church.

Map pin icon Ivana Franka Street, 16 Slavsko

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Вірменський кафедральний собор, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Armenian Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

In the Armenian quarter of Lviv, between the streets of Virmenska and Lesi Ukrayinky, there is a cathedral, a bell tower, the palace of the archbishops and a nunnery. The buildings form a colorful "Armenian yard".

The construction was led by the Armenian architect Dorinh (Dorhi) at the expense of Armenian merchants. The image of the cathedral has many common features with the cathedral in the ancient Armenian capital of Ani. Over the centuries, the cathedral was renovated and extended. The oldest part is the eastern part (from the 14th century). Reconstruction in 1723 gave the building a baroque appearance.

In the altar part there are traditional "khachkar" stone crosses. The sculptural groups of the 15th century "The Belief of Khoma" and "Saint Sophia with Daughters" are of significant artistic value.

Map pin icon Virmenska Street, 7-13 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Катедральний храм Успіння Богородиці, Стрий
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Cathedral

Temple , Architecture

The Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is the main Greek-Catholic church of Stryi.

The history of the shrine originates from the church of the Franciscan monastery, known since 1608. In 1785, the Austrian authorities liquidated the Catholic monastery and handed over the religious building to the Ukrainian community.

The wooden Assumption Church was the oldest in Stryi, but due to its poor condition, it was dismantled and a new church was built on this site. The relics of Blessed Petro Verhun are kept here. The main shrine is the miraculous Lesko icon of the Mother of God.

Map pin icon Uspenska Street, 16 Stryi

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Пресвятої Богородиці, Рудки
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The church-sanctuary of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin was built in Rudky in 1728 at the expense of the Urbanski family on the site of an earlier, wooden church, which was founded in the 14th century and was rebuilt several times.

It housed the ancient miracle-working icon of Our Lady of Rudkivska, known as the "Queen of Beschad". After the icon was crowned by the Pope in 1921, the Church of the Assumption in Rudky became one of the most revered sacred buildings in pre-war Poland. In 1946, the icon was exported to Poland (only a copy was returned to the church in 1995).

A bell tower of the 17th century, which remained from the time of the wooden temple, has been preserved nearby.

The church houses the tomb of the family of the famous Polish playwright Aleksander Fredro, whose estate was located in the nearby village of Vyshnia.

Map pin icon Stepana Bandery Street, 3 Rudky

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Успіння Богородиці, Глиняни
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The Greek-Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin in Hlyniany is one of the oldest wooden churches in Galicia.

Officially, the date of its foundation is considered to be the 17th century, although the Orthodox parish in Hlyniany existed in the 15th century. The three-log, one-story church is located on the territory of the former northern suburb.

According to legend, Hetman Ivan Mazepa prayed here, and Hetman Bohdan Khmelnytskyi planted two old ash trees in the yard.

In the Church of the Assumption there is an icon of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ (15th century), which is associated with the legend of self-renewal: in 1936, the enthroned image, blackened by time, was purified by itself and covered with gilding.

In 1937, a bell tower was built at the entrance to the yard.

After the Second World War, the church was closed and the premises were transferred to the museum of carpet weaving, but the miraculous image was preserved, people continued to come to it and hold services.

Currently, the Assumption Church is in need of restoration.

Map pin icon Tarasa Shevchenko Street, 8A Hlyniany

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенська церква, Тухолька
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Church

Temple , Architecture

The wooden church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin Mary in Tukholka was built in 1845-1858.

A three-log, three-storied church in the Boyko style stands on a low hill at the exit from Tukholka to the village of Klemets. A two-story bell tower was built nearby in 1862.

In 1961, the Assumption Church was closed by the Soviet authorities. Divine service was resumed in 1988.

Map pin icon Zelena Street Tukholka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенський костел, Угнів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Church

Architecture , Temple

The Church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin in the city of Uhniv was built in 1695 at the expense of Khrystofor Dunin. The huge baroque church was designed by the architect Voytsekh Lenartovych.

During Soviet times, the Assumption Church building was used as a warehouse, but the church has been well preserved.

Map pin icon Adama Mitskevycha Street, 2A Uhniv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенська церква (Волоська), Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Church (Voloska)

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Holy Virgin  (Voloska) in Lviv is a landmark of Galicia's Renaissance architecture.

For a long time, the temple was made of wood. The construction of the stone church began in the 15th century and lasted for more than four decades (architect Pavlo Rimlyanin) at the expense of the Ukrainian (Rus) community, as well as the Moldavian (Volochian) master Oleksandr Lopushanin, for which the church received its second name. The Orthodox community of the city was concentrated around the temple.

Built in 1572, the belfry (height 66 meters) is called the Kornyakt tower in honor of the Greek merchant and philanthropist who promoted Orthodoxy in Lviv.

In the interior there is a painting of the XVII-XVIII centuries, an iconostasis of 1773, stained glass windows by Petro Kholodnyi. The Chapel of the Three Saints (1578-1591) was combined with the Church of the Assumption in the middle of the 19th century.

The Parish of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary belongs to the Lviv Eparchy of the Orthodox Church of Ukraine.

Map pin icon Ruska Street, 5/7 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Костел Успіння Діви Марії, Турка
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Mary

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Turka was built in 1779 on the site of the first wooden Roman Catholic church, which was founded in 1730 on the initiative of the magnate Antoniya Kalynovsky, who owned the city at that time.

Kalynovsky invited the Jesuit fathers to Turka and entrusted them with the care of the city's small Catholic parish. In 1749, the Jesuit order was liquidated by the Austrian government and the Church of the Assumption became a parish church.

In 1906-1914, reconstruction was carried out according to the project of Stanislav Mayerskyi. After the Soviet period of desolation, in 1992 the Church of the Assumption was returned to Turka Roman Catholics.

Map pin icon Vasylya Stusa Street, 35 Turka

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Успенський костел, Вишнівчик
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of Holy Virgin Mary Church

Temple , Architecture

The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in the village of Vyshnivchyk in 1930. The neo-Gothic temple was designed by the architect Vavzhynets Daychak.

During the Soviet rule, the building was used for economic purposes. Nowadays, the Church of the Assumption is abandoned and crumbling.

Map pin icon Yaroslava Dashkevycha Street Vyshnivchyk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Церква Успіння та Святої Трійці, Свірж
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Assumption of the Virgin & Holy Trinity Church

Temple , Architecture

The Castle Church of the Assumption of the Virgin was built in Svirzh in 1546 by the magnate Andriy Svirzhsky on the site of a wooden church of the 15th century.

After several reconstructions, the church acquired a Renaissance appearance, although it was originally Gothic. Above the entrance you can see the remains of the noble coat of arms of the former owners.

An underground passage led to the church from the castle, which can still be traced in the moat near the drawbridge.

In Soviet times, the temple was used as a warehouse.

In 1994, the church building was handed over to the faithful of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church. The temple was consecrated as the Church of the Holy Trinity and the Assumption of the Virgin. The restoration has been carried out.

Map pin icon Svirzh

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Аустерія, Новий Милятин
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Austeria

Architecture

The old Austeria is located in the village of Novyi Myliatyn near the Exaltation Church.

Built in the Baroque style, the inn consisted of an inn, stables and rooms for merchants who come to the fair.

In 1934-1935, restoration work was carried out on the building, and since 1961 it housed a grocery store.

The Novyi Myliatyn Austeria is an architectural monument of national importance, but is now in a neglected state.

Map pin icon Novyi Myliatyn

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Австрійський ДОТ, Миколаїв
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Austrian Pillbox

Castle / fortress

The Austrian Pillbox (DOT) from the First World War is located on a 30-meter cliff on the northern outskirts of Mykolaiv.

An entrance and two separate rooms 20 by 7 meters have been cut into the sandstone rock. Stairs lead to the second floor to the stone-concrete tower of Pillbox.

Pillbox was used as an observation post and fire control center - the northern part of the city of Mykolaiv and the road leading to it are clearly visible from a height.

Map pin icon Mykoly Lysenka Street Mykolaiv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Музей автентичного одягу та прикрас, Львів
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Authentic Clothing and Adornment Museum

Museum / gallery

The museum of authentic clothing and adornment from all regions of Ukraine was opened in Lviv by collector and ethnographer Roksolyana Shymchuk in 2024. The exposition is located in the basement of the Lviv Art Palace.

The founder of the museum began collecting her collection in the early 1990s. For over 30 years, she has sought out and restored vintage clothing, adornment and headwear. Now her collection includes several thousand examples of Ukrainian folk applied art.

Only a part of the collection is presented in the museum exposition. Here you can see the folk costumes of Hutsulshchyna, Boykivshchyna, Pokuttya, Bukovyna, Podillya, Lviv region, Volyn, Dnipro region, and Left Bank Ukraine.

By prior agreement, the founder of the museum conducts author's tours. On the first floor, there is an ethno-gallery, where you can buy modern designer items and adornment, the author of which is Roksolyana Shymchuk.

Map pin icon Mykoly Kopernyka Street, 17 Lviv

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Палац Бадені, Буськ
0
Star icon Star border icon
User icon
0

Badeni Palace

Palace / manor , Architecture

The palace in Busk in the park above the Buh, the last owner of which was Count Kazymyr Badeni, was built in 1810 by the Busk landowner Voytsekh Miyer as a residential building and office.

The governor of Galicia, Kazymyr Badeni, bought it in 1876 and rebuilt it for his own summer residence. At the same time as the palace, a park (now named after Ivan Franko) was laid out, the avenues of which smoothly descend to the Buh. The complex consists of a main two-story building and two side wings. The decoration of the palace is a two-story portico with columns and a balcony with a balustrade. In the interiors, the old parquet, laid out in seven colors, as well as the stucco coat of arms of the count family of Badeni have been preserved.

In the period after the Second World War, a military unit was stationed here. Currently, the abandoned building is owned by the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Ukraine. In May 2016, the ministry handed over the palace of Count Badeni to the community of the city of Busk. As a result of a fire in November 2016, the roof and ceiling were damaged on an area of 150 square meters.

The issue of restoration and creation of a museum is under consideration.

Map pin icon maidan Nezalezhnosti, 2 Busk

Rating

User icon
0
0
Star icon Star border icon

Add to favorites

Add to route

Functional temporarily unavailable